6 Supplements to add to your “Medicine Chest”

We are definitely back into the cold and flu season (did it ever leave?). This week we have had a few bugs floating around at work, and luckily I have upped the ante by starting back onto my regular supplement schedule.

Over the summer I tend to relax a little with my supplements. I always try to take a multi-vitamin, but usually cut back on my Vitamin D (I get lots of this from the summer sun) and other supplements that I take through the fall and winter to help build immunity and prevent sickness.  As I started back on my supplements this week, I wanted to share with you those that I find most effective in preventing sickness, even when all those around you are suffering.  Here is my list of “must haves” for the school year:

Garlic extract– Garlic and garlic supplements provide extraordinary immune boosting abilities. It is also effective against certain strains of bacteria and pathogens.  I take a garlic supplement fairly regularly as it also helps with cardiovascular health!

Vitamin D– This is a must have supplement all year round, though I do cut back in the summertime since I get lots of natural Vitamin D from being outside. Vitamin D is essential to many body functions, and aids in having a healthy body and mind (helps fight seasonal depression!).  I also give this to my toddler, but he gets a liquid “Baby D” vitamin.

Vitamin C– Another must have for all-year health. Vitamin C is the stuff that gives oranges their good reputation for kicking a cold.  Vitamin C is essential for so many functions including cardiovascular health, hair, skin and nails, cancer prevention, immunity and many more.

Echinacea Purpurea– This supplement is great for when a cold strikes. I do not take this daily, but rather use it at the onset of a sickness.  Echinacea is one of the supplements that is thought to help in the prevention and treatment of Ebola.  I have no experience with this particular sickness but the idea is enough for me to keep it on hand.  This is another supplement that I keep around in a children’s formula in case my little guy picks up a bug.

Olive Leaf– another great anti-bacterial and anti-viral to keep ready when a sickness strikes. I have a family member that took this particular supplement to help with the treatment of a MRSA infection.

Oil of Oregano– This stuff is super potent but does wonders to treat and prevent illness. Oil of Oregano is a very powerful natural anti-biotic and has shown efficiency over many of the prescription anti-biotics on the market.  I do not take this daily, but will take for 3-4 days every few weeks, or when I know I was exposed to an illness.

Though this list does not include all of the supplements and herbs out there that fight illness, it is a great list to keep handy. Different supplements fight different infections so if one is not working, try another.  Try to remember that if a bug hits, there is usually no real cure for it other than rest and good nutrition.  However, preparing your body with good nutrition and herbs can help prevent sickness from taking hold.

My habits of “buckling down” with my health beginning in September and continuing through April or so have resulted in multiple years of health. Some sickness is essential to building our immune systems, but if you find yourself getting more than 2-3 illness a year you many benefit from boosting your nutrition and supplement intake.  I generally get a cold sometime in the late fall, and usually something one other time in the year.  My colds are short-lived and I have not had anything more serious that a few sniffles and a sore throat in years.  Prior to changing my diet and lifestyle I felt like I was chronically ill, so do believe in the power of natural healing.

I have many other tips, tricks and healthy habits that I look forward to sharing with you in the coming weeks. In the meantime, stay healthy!

Leave a comment