Baby Butt Rash- natural methods to heal your baby’s skin

Image

As my young baby boy has grown he has experienced his fair share of rashes on his little bottom!  This usually appears during difficult teething periods and can last for a few days.  When we first brought him home I used the stock of A&D ointment and Desitin that I received from my baby shower.  After a particularly bad rash with days of using Desitin I noticed that he almost seemed to have a chemical burn from this ointment.  I did some research and found that you should not use Desitin on open skin sores, which is what he suffered from with a bad rash.  I knew I needed to find a safer alternative that would sooth his skin and not cause further irritation.  I tried a few different natural and organic options and the one I found to work the best is CJ’s BUTTer!

CJ’s BUTTer is a natural ointment containing only ingredients I recognize: Coconut Oil, Olive Oil, Castor Oil, and Vitamin E Oil.  It can be used daily on baby’s bum, and can also be used anywhere you or baby experience dry skin (arms, legs, face, hands).  The formula comes in an ointment and a spray, and comes in a range of scents (including unscented).  I have both the ointment and the spray and I love them both.  The liquid spray is great for regular changes when there is not real threat of rash.  It has become part of my regular changing process to squirt a little bit of the oil on my baby’s butt before diapering him.  He always giggles at the spray, and the oils keep his skin smooth.  The ointment is great for times when a rash seems to be appearing and I need something a little heavier.  This stuff has really kept the rashes down.  Even better, when he does develop a rash, this ointment seems to sooth his skin and he stops crying when I apply it (versus crying harder with the Desitin since it was burning).

A second method I use when my boy gets a diaper rash is a baking soda bath.  It is as simple as it sounds; I fill his bath with warm water, add a few spoon-fuls of Aluminum-free Baking Soda, and let him soak.  The Baking Soda helps sooth and heal his rash and when combined with some CJ’s Butt Butter before bed, it usually clears up the rash by the next morning.

I believe there are times when a zinc oxide cream can and should be used, but CJ’s BUTTer has helped us dramatically cut down those incidences since we are preventing rashes instead of just treating them.

Have you found any products that really work wonders for your baby’s rash?

Leave a comment